Do you draw? Let's trade some tips together ^^

Dyddycat

Hi^^ I've been drawing since I was veeery youg, but I've been drawing manga only since two/three years ago.

How do you start a drawing (speaking of bases, like geometrical shapes)? and what is the hardest/easiest body part to draw in a human?

I usually start with the head and the eyes, then I use some basic shapes like circles or triangles, but not always. As for the easiest part, for me it's drawing the eyes or the hands and shoulders, while the hardest parts are usually the legs (mostly in male characters) and the feet. God, those feet...

What about you?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• fan_yaoi

• lukaXGAMErs

• gin

• Dyddycat

I've been drawing for a very long time. I always start with a basic head shape before making guidelines to where I want limbs and in what direction/action I want them to be in. I usually have lots of different issues, I suppose it depends on my concentration when I'm drawing. Sometimes it's the eyes and other times it's hands but I take my time and from start to finish I could be drawing for up to 5 hours. Haha I really am a perfectionist when it comes to drawing. It really helps to get a general position idea so I used to draw my friends when they would come over.

Feet and hands used to drive me insane but after lots of practice (and I mean LOTS) I finally got them to be decent enough for my standards.

• 7 months later...

I discovered my aptitude in art when I was in high school when I first became addicted to anime. I got good at drawing anime characters (in my opinion) 4 years ago but those are just copy paste type of drawings and not original ones. And I'd mostly draw the head cos I suuuuuper suck at limbs. Back then my notebook would be full of head shots. Hahahaha