Yoroshiku desu. Newbie.

masakikoh

Hi, everyone. I dunno how I stumbled on this site, to tell you the truth. Down the rabbit hole that is the Internet and here I am! Sort of like Alice going to Wonderland, no doubt.

Well, a bit about me: I'm a guy originally from the US. I taught myself Japanese before university and then ended up majoring in Japan Studies. I lived in Japan for work, where I was a translator and interpreter. While there, I was of course making friends and dating, as well. So, I guess I know the Japanese LGBTQ community firsthand from relationships and friendships, but I am completely clueless with anime/manga culture. I only went to Akihabara when I was acting as interpreter/tour guide for student groups, I'm afraid. In particular, I don't know much about this genre of anime/manga, although it's become well-known both in Japan and outside. I think I knew it was sort of hitting the mainstream cultural awareness when it was featured on GAYCATION with actress Ellen Page.

Anyway, I'm a total newbie to BL/yaoi. You might ask why I'm here. Well, I'm interested in the paradox in Japan between the experiences of LGBTQ-identifying individuals in Japan (little mainstream acceptance; low visibility in society) and this genre of fiction, which is produced for the consumption mainly of women within Japan itself. It seems quite a paradox, which is fascinating to me as a lover of social sciences and someone generally interested in people.

Maybe a slightly unusual case for this forum, but I hope to help you by translating some manga. I translate mostly complicated technical documents all day, so it would be fun to translate something creative and be able to work on dialogue and such. I mean, I spent a lot of time in Japan every day talking and on the weekends being with friends or my significant other, so I think the dialogue would be a fun refresher. More interesting than telling you how to run your DVD player.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply